Hey, hey, hey! A day at Trader’s Village

Last weekend my cousin and I went to the Trader’s Village Flea Market in San Antonio. It’s one of many in Texas and even sports a few amusement park rides. With over 1,000 vendors each weekend, I knew this was a great way to start my journey.

There was so much to see and do it was almost overwhelming. However, we planned a route that would traverse the aisles while covering the most ground. From toys to toasters, it seemed like there was a vendor for anything you can think of.

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-7-52-06-pm
One of the many aisles/alleys of vendors

It wasn’t until late in our visit that we spotted it: a denim jacket hanging off the side of a clothing booth. Upon closer inspection I noticed the front pocket had writing on it: “Fat Albert.” I knew I was on to something and turned the jacket around and there was a big patch of Fat Albert and the Junkyard Gang. Elated, I bought the jacket on the spot for $15.

screen-shot-2017-02-10-at-6-53-28-pm
The back of the jacket

The jacket surprised me by it’s quality alone. The stitching and patches weren’t just added by some exuberant Fat Albert fan, the jacket was made this way. It was also a bit large, but the novelty of it alone is enough for me to wear it around.

front-boy
Front
back-boy
Back

 

 

 

 

 

Overall, I only made one purchase, but it was one I wholeheartedly stand by. Trader’s Village had a vast spectrum of different vendors, food, and even live music. It felt almost like a theme park. The scale and variety that Trader’s Village offers is enough to warrant multiple visits and I recommend checking it out if you’re in the area.

pose-1
Me showing off my new aesthetic

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

